B16, B18, B20
By daiquans
#325031 hi im new at the building engine thing bu they im trying just in alil need of help trying to figure out what size pistons to get i understand i need to get forged pistons for a turbo build 400-500hp and i need to know to figure out the size of the rods
By bks84
#325048 what crank and block are you using.

if youre using an ls crank in an ls block, get ls rods
if youre using a gsr crank in a gsr block, get gsr rods
if youre using a gsr crank in an ls block, get gsr rods
if youre using an ls crank in a gsr block, get ls rods.

Cant help on pistons, since you didnt list what block youre using.
By daiquans
#325063 I THOUGHT WITH THE POWER I WAS TRYING TO REACH I COULDN'T USE THE STOCK RODS OR PISTONS
By bks84
#325067 No but aftermarket parts are made based off oe pieces.

So what block and crank are you using?
Does the block need bored? If so how much.
By daiquans
#325068 i was going to resleeve and use prolli stock crank
By bks84
#325071 Then you'll need gsr length rods.
As for pistons buy them in whatever sized bore you'll be running. Drop the block off at a trusted machine shop and have them bore the block to match pistons and set p2w clearances.
By daiquans
#325087 Thats what im rryin to figure out what is a good bore size to run with turbo
By bks84
daiquans wrote:Thats what im rryin to figure out what is a good bore size to run with turbo

Start small so if and when you have problems there is room to fix it.

I'd start at stock bore 81mm and go from there.
By kylenjdm93
#325096 you should never use a stock bore when building it up, you can cross hone the cylinders but if the size is off by a bit your screwed, blow by.

over bore the cylinders from stock to .25 (technically its .20) any way, post up some pics of the block you have so we all have an idea of what you are trying to actually accomplish.

technically any bore size is good for turbo, if you are resleeving the block with something like aebs, or dart.