D15, D16, D17 and Mini-Me swaps
By couch_c
#296074 I have a stock d16z6 and was wondering if it's normal for my gears to be harder to shift to at higher rpms. I've researched but it's more than 1 gear, it's hard to shift to 2nd and 3rd, at WOT of course before redline and I'm not power shifting, never got to 4th. I've always thought it was supposed to be harder to shift gears at higher rpms which I thought would explain why people slam their gears while racing but I have to force it in so hard it sound almost like a pop. This is my first manual and I'm still learning as I go.
By RL-521
#296080 ive wondered the same thing since i started driving manual :? can someone shed some light please ?
By TrailerTrash
#296084 something doesnt sound right... ive never had this problem ever. you shouldnt have to force or "slam" gears...

whats power shifting?
By TrailerTrash
#296090 :facepalm:
By teal_dx
#296094 First I'd check your tranny fluid and then the level in the clutch master cylinder. Either of those being low can make shifting more difficult.

How is your shift linkage? Any bad bushings? Did someone substitute a nut & bolt for the bitch pin on the linkage?
By couch_c
#296128 Everything seems to look fine, it's only hard to shift while in vtec or if I speed shift, for example. if I drive on 1st up to 5500 rpms(in vtec zone) and I clutch in and shift to 2nd slowly as in holding the stick shift down for a bit it'll manage to go in on it's own, but if I try speed shifting it doesn't go in smooth unless I force it in a little harder.

The biggest question I wanna know is, is it supposed to shift as easy as it does at low rpms, as in a smooth shift, mine is always smooth unless I'm engaging vtec.
By couch_c
#296145 I see, I've been thinking about a full tranny flush, that might fix the problem, how much does a full flush usually go for?
By TrailerTrash
#296153 did you take a look at your linkage?
By EG Love
#296239 I'm not sure what they go for..