D15, D16, D17 and Mini-Me swaps
By teal_dx
#25 I'm no certified mechanic, but this was way easier than I expected.
There's a couple of reasons you would want to do this, rather than pull it out.
1. You don't need a hoist.
2. You don't risk banging up the inside of your engine bay.
3. You can do this by your self.
Take lots of pics of the engine bay. This will help you later on to see what hoses go where and where all the harnesses are.
Remove the bumper, splash shield, inner fender liners.
Remove the header, intake & radiator
Pull the axles (and have a pan ready).
Unhook all harnesses, coolant lines, fuel lines, power steering, shift cable (automatic), linkage (manual)

After you have double checked that nothing is still hooked to the motor, unbolt all 4 bolts on the rear motor mount (reach 3 from the bottom, the one closest to the motor can be reached from the top. After you remove the 4 bolts, wrestle with the mount so that it is pulled up away from the block. (I wrestled it for a while and couldn't get it all the way out.
Next remove the 2 small front mounts.
Here's where you have to start guessing...
Measure the height of your motor and be sure your jack can lift your car high enough to slide the motor from under the side. You might need to add some wood blocks, but not too many or the car won't go low enough to set the engine down.

I made a little cart out of some scrap 2x4's and (4) $4 casters. It worked out perfect that the cart was high enough to roll over the end of the jack.
Now put the jack with 2x4's for additional height under the radiator support & lift a little, then pull out the jack stands.

With the cart under the motor, let the car all the way down slowly.

When the motor is resting on the cart, unbolt the left and right top motor mounts.

Now jack the car up slowly, a few pumps at a time, then look around the back of the motor to be sure everything is clearing. You will have to pull that rear mount up around the throttle body.