General tranny info covering all models & motors.
By ForneyHatch
#270982 I bought my EG with a B16A with Integra LS tranny. I want to take it out to open track day events in my area. I'm new to Hondas, so please excuse me for sounding stupid. The LS tranny feels like it has too long gearing for the high reving B16A. What Acura/Honda tranny would I need to match my needs? I definitely need a tranny with shorter gearing and possibly an LSD.
By Tristanw10
#270996 I would try and find the B16a trans, it has the shorter gears and you would notice a huge difference. In turn, you will use up more gas using it as a DD.
By chrono404
#271015 b16 or B18c GSR Tranny are good. The 98+ spec ITR tranny is the shortest geared and most ideal for "Road Corse" races(the kind on a track, not street racing)

As mentioned above the Downside will be a huge difference in fuel economy.

i have a '95 Delsol Si with a 99Spec JDM b20b(same as usdm b20z) with a 99-00 EM1 Si B16 Transmission. Best MPG i have EVER got. 25mpg. Avg 19-21.

On the flip side, There is a person who comes to our local meets with a '93 Sedan with also a 99 spec JDM B20b just like me, however he has a LS Tranmission. He told me he gets 35-40mpg.

Since the Delsol is my Project/Fun car its always driven hard or "enthusiastically" while the person from our meets DD his. So there is a difference there.

If you dont care about Fuel economy a B16 or ITR Tranny is the route to go. Make sure its a hydro transmission as apposed to a Cable.

That all said if you want a fast track car I would use a b18b LS or b20b/b20z instead of a b16. I have had a B16 before and thought it was fast. It wasn't. my B20b with b16 transmission leaves GSR's in the dust. Its all about getting into your Power band and staying there. I had a friend who had a B16 powered Delsol VTEC. My Delsol left his in the dust with me using 3/4 throttle.