Technical Topics specific to the 2 dr. coupe body - NOT where you post pics/build specs of your car.
By dh_guitarist
#252133 Okay, so I have a 94 Honda Civic ex... I just installed a jdm d16a vtec last summer in it. I am new to this. I am used to rebuilding older trucks and cars but I have always wanted to fix this civic up... I just do not know where to start besides the fact that I want to change from an auto to a manual... should I get a different motor or is the d16 vtec good enough to put some money into? If so where do I start? If not, what should I look into getting? So basically I need some help with direction... Not sure where to go
By EG9-ish
#252139 What kind of power goals are you wanting? How much money do you want to spend?

You could stay with the D series setup, or go B series, but I really can't give you advice until you know what you are aiming for power/money wise.
By dh_guitarist
#252140 I will probably keep the d16 for a while just because its new... but shouldn't the parts from the d series swap to the b series if I switch later?
By teal_dx
#252147 before the JDM police come in here... :lol:
you posted this in the Coupe section but put EG in the thread title.
EG is a hatch while the coupe chassis code is EJ :wink:

And D and B parts aren't compatible.
Putting money into a D16 in terms of bolt ons won't be the best HP to dollar ratio. The D's respond well to boost but you could have swapped a B series for the cost it will take to build a naturally aspirated D series.

I'd say read around on this forum in the D series section and see what some of the other members have done. :thumb:
By dh_guitarist