Technical Topics specific to the Hatchback body - NOT where you post pics/build specs of your car.
By Jester1341
#329864 searched around and didnt really see anything to help answer this, i have a '94 VX and unlike most i am actually keeping the Z1 to use as my daily. my problem is that the car has what i'm told is an eBay header(i can only assume the stocker cracked of course :thumbdown: ) the car also came with the stock cat(gutted) and stock S-pipe and stock muffler. when i go to mount it all up the 2-1 section of the header is about 6" farther back than were the cat should bolt up :shock:

im pretty new to all things honda so i am wondering what options i have. at current all i can figure is to buy a new OEM manifold(which will crack) or to cut and weld my stock exhaust.

is there a 'short' cat i can get, or will another exahaust system fit properly, or is there a shorter header??

any help is appreciated

john
By Jester1341
#329868 i've been looking around a lot more and i thought there was a difference between cali and non-cali exhaust manifolds, but it now looks like they are the same and have the cat bolted right on the mani close to the bumper, rather than under the engine.

soooooo, i should be fine to go with an all stock CX or DX exhaust or aftermarket right? any sugestions? i dont want it to sound shitty but i also am trying to do this DD on the cheap

john
By suspendedHatch
#329928 I would suggest converting it to DX with the cat under the car and a separate manifold.
By MG6
suspendedHatch wrote:I would suggest converting it to DX with the cat under the car and a separate manifold.

why so? interesting to know as fyi
By Jester1341
#329951 i have ordered an ebay exhaust which of course is the DX/Si style and will report that it hopefully fits, cant figure why it wouldnt and it is the easiest and most cost effective way to get this thing on the road.

john
By deschlong