Technical Topics specific to the Hatchback body - NOT where you post pics/build specs of your car.
By Crabloc93
#322067 Hey guys, I'm new to the car thing, and YES I know it isn't cheap, but I love my 93 Honda Hatchback, and I want to make it even better then it is now. Im sure you have gotten this question a bunch of times, on where to start on building a car. The only issue though is my hatch IS an automatic, I plan on doing a 5spd swap once the tranny goes bad. Iv'e done my research and gotten input from friends. I don't plan on racing either, I just want my car to perform better. From what Ive been told, buying some ground control coilovers would be the first thing I would want to do.. I plan on getting an air intake, and a new exaust system sometime in the spring, and would appreciate some input on whats the best to buy, and the best to start on.
By josh93coupe
#322070 It just depends really. There isnt one best place to start persay, it just depends what you want to do. Also if you plan to buy the ground control coilovers, your going to want to buy a set of struts to go with them. Koni's are a favorite. Before you start on anything motor related i would do the 5 speed conversion.
By Anjreu
#322082 Id say make sure your engine is reliable by replacing gaskets/seals/fluids ect. if you havent done that already. You can do that while doing the 5speed swap if you wanted to.

Then when upgrading suspension check out your bushings and what not.

Thats just me though, I have a relatively stock ex. with 5 speed and vtec, It's plenty of fun to drive for now until I can follow through with future plans :twisted:
By teal_dx
#322084 Suspension makes the far more fun to drive. I'd start there. In the meantime, start collecting all of the parts needed for the 5 speed swap. If you look around, deals can be found. :thumb:
By Crabloc93