Appearance, Paint & Body Work
By Civic Savior
#346033 So I love my car to death....but this rust is pretty extensive...the fender wells are destroyed...notice the bondo and fiberglass hanging out everywhere...and there are 2 large holes in front of the rear wheels...is it worth it?? I would have to do it myself...and I have no experience with welding...any opinions??

Image[/img]
By Coraline
#346037 If you love the car don't give it up! unfortunately it's not an easy fix for someone without welding experience. ( edit: the body work is trickky too) You would probably have to take the car off the road. For the record though it doesn't look that bad I own worse.;)
Only you can make the call though.
Read Teal's Quarter Panel Repair in the DIY section! It requires the use of some unique tools not everyone has, and can be alot to take in at first depending on how mechanically inclined you are.

also on a side note how do you make the pictures display in a post? I'm fairly new to posting. I know how to post a link i just cant get a preview to show up! thanks
By teal_dx
#346048 That can be repaired but it's going to be a lot of work. The thing that worries me is that there is bondo/fiberglass that someone used to cover up rust. So it could be a lot worse behind it all and you won't know for sure until it is all removed.
By Civic Savior
#346056 im in the process of removing all the bondo/fiberglass now. I will post more pics when I get through it all...I think I might go for home plate on this and try and repair it...I cant part with the car..
By TrailerTrash
#346059 i dealt with rust repair last year. it was my first time and it was very difficult. i had never welded sheetmetal before and i didnt have the right tools for the job.

the parts to repair the car only cost me about 200 bucks. replacement body panels, bondo to smooth it out, paint, and sealer.