Calipers, Rotors, Pads, Lines & more- OEM and Aftermarket
By latinochino
#148278 I am a total noob on brakes so please bare with me.

Ok I have a 94 CX and I have been experiencing really bad breaking comfort.

When braking, i exect the to lightly press the brake pedal to slow down. For some reason I have to pretty much, close to, floor the brake pedal to slow down. This to me is too dangerous to make this car drivable.

Also when I stop, I bump the brakes and I feel the pedal become solid but when I keep the pedal held down, the brake pedal is slighty going down with the weight of my foot against it.

I called 2 places and asked the some question. They told me the master cylinder maybe the issue. So how much of a job could this come out to or is it a simple fix?

Appreciate your help guys :) :thumb:
By Chance
#148286 If your brake fluid is low it will do that. Check that FIRST, then report back here with results.
By Method
Chance wrote:If your brake fluid is low it will do that. Check that FIRST, then report back here with results.

i will check my brake fluid today, mine is starting to do that too.
By latinochino
#148316 Ok I will have to do that.

So my assumption is the the resevior tank for the brakes should be full to a specific line correct? (noob to the fullest, lol)

Edit: I found this and maybe it can be helpful for future members with the same problem.

http://www.clubcivic.com/board/showthread.php?t=138503
By GoRide
#148348 could there be air in the brake lines?
By berg89
#148354 There could be, Has your master cylinder ever went dry, then filled it back up? Because there can be air in your lines if that happened. Your brake would react in the same way. So make sure the cylinder is full and if that doesn't help then bleed your whole system.
By latinochino