In Car Entertainment & Security
By JustinHforHonda
#343945 Hello Forum,
I built my box and seat delete for my subs to be rear facing, as the consensus back then was that's the best way subs should face in a hatch. I'm going to be redoing my system and am thinking about the possibility of facing my new subs forward or upward to have a sleeker looking seat delete design.
So was wondering anyone's experience with subs facing in these different directions? Differences in SQ, SPL, Rattles...? I am not competing in sound competitions, just want it to sound good, and not be "wasting" or "losing" bass.
Here is my current seat delete/sub set up.
The new design will still pretty much have to keep the subs right behind the front seats as the rear half of the design (my spare tire spot) is where all the air suspension components are.
Thanks in advance!
By teal_dx
#343950 I'm not an expert at this stuff. I always thought rear facing was best because the bass bounces off of the back of the car, making it louder up front and covering up noise from the subs that you would hear if they were facing up or forward.

Nice work you've done there :thumb:
By rustyrex
#343953 I have been doing car audio for almost 20 years and before I became a engineer I held a MECP certification. If your enclosure is sealed it will not make a difference as far as loudness goes. If it is ported then having the subs face the rear bumper will always be louder in a hatchback. The hatch area gives the port a loading wall and will allow the bass to generate higher pressure. Sound quality is the only thing that will change with a sealed box facing forward or backwards. That is something that is personal preference. The best thing to do is build your box and try it both ways.
By JustinHforHonda
#343985 Thanks teal!